From Cooking Channel Star to Rap Sensation: Roger Mooking Unleashes ‘Soundbites’

Today marks the release of the sixth rap album by Roger Mooking, a Juno Award-winning Toronto rapper, globally acclaimed celebrity chef, restaurateur, author, and the star of hit shows like “Man Fire Food,” “Everyday Exotic,” and “Heat Seekers” on Food Network and Cooking Channel. This latest musical endeavor is titled “SOUNDBITES” and comes with a new visual presentation from the project named “I Can’t Stand.”

While Roger Mooking is widely recognized for his culinary prowess, with a culinary empire spanning across North America, including restaurants, television appearances, and best-selling books, his journey as a versatile artist began in the pioneering world of rap. As a solo artist and a founding member of influential groups like Maximum Definitive and Bass is Base, he played an instrumental role in shaping Canada’s contemporary Hip Hop scene. Born in Trinidad and raised in Canada, Roger Mooking boasts an impressive discography, featuring five albums, a Juno Award win, and multiple Juno Award nominations.

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of Hip Hop, Roger introduces “SOUNDBITES,” his latest musical masterpiece. This album is inspired by the astonishing fact that the average human attention span is a mere 8.25 seconds. “SOUNDBITES” stands as a lyrical opus, featuring ephemeral tracks that celebrate the essence of music, community, creativity, chaos, and explore how time influences and defines our world, particularly from the perspective of the Black community. The album is artfully divided into three distinct segments, echoing the stages of life: the Learning, the Living, and the Leaving.

Furthermore, “SOUNDBITES” serves as the captivating soundtrack for Roger’s forthcoming book, “Curious Sounds: A Dialogue in Three Movements,” which is scheduled for release on Tuesday, October 24th.

Listen to Soundbites:


01 Blank

02 Aquatic Inferno

03 Its My Birthday

04 Im An Adult

05 Francescas Reading Room

06 Pretty Penny

07 Listen To Granny

08 Practice Daily

09 The Other Guy Returns

10 Stuck On Stoopid

11 The City 2.0

12 I Cant Stand It

13 Screwface Capital (feat Mastermind)

14 Played Out

15 Fearless

16 When Words Fail

17 Imagine That

18 Twice A Child (feat francesca ekwuyasi)

19 Black Death (feat Jully Black & francesca ekwuyasi)


Roger Mooking is well known as a celebrity chef and the host of such television shows as the Cooking Channel’s Man Fire Food and Everyday Exotic; he is also a Juno-Award winning recording artist with five albums to his credit and a visual artist who creates immersive experiences that merge the visual, sonic, and culinary arts.